Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

Denise Scott Brown wins the 2017 Jane Drew Prize

Women in Architecture Awards: the veteran architect Denise Scott Brown has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize, while artist Rachel Whiteread wins the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

A quarter of a century after the Pritzker Prize failed to recognize Denise Scott Brown alongside her partner Robert Venturi, Denise Scott Brown has won the 2017 Jane Drew Prize.

The award recognises an architectural designer who through their work and commitment to design excellence has raised the profile of women in architecture.

Respondents to the Women in Architecture: Working in Architecture survey overwhelmingly voted for Scott Brown to be honoured with the award.

Scott Brown’s receipt of the prize is a culmination of the grassroots drive to see her contribution to the profession adequately recognised – a movement that sprung from the Women in Architecture campaign in 2013.

Denise Scott Brown said of the accolade: ‘‘I’m a bit punch drunk on the whole subject of prizes as you can imagine given my history with them. But things have happened which have made me very happy in my old age and one of those is this prize – and the petition which came out of the Architects’ Journal’s work.’

Christine Murray, editor-in-chief of The Architectural Review and The Architects’ Journal, said: ‘Denise Scott Brown’s wonderful architectural writing and thinking, her work and her wit have been an inspiring force for change. This honour squares the circle.’

Artist Rachel Whiteread is the winner of the 2017 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize, the award which recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment.

Rachel portrait jsk 08

Rachel portrait jsk 08

Rachel Whiteread

Whiteread was the standout nomination for the honour, as voted for by the respondents to the Women in Architecture survey.

The materiality of Whiteread’s work (such as in her 1993 Turner Prize-winning House), her collaboration with architects (such as Caruso St John Architects for the UK Holocaust Memorial International Design Competition), and her participation on the RIBA Stirling Prize 2016 jury all highlight her impact on the wider architectural world.

Christine Murray, editor-in-chief of The Architectural Review and The Architects’ Journal, said: ‘Rachel Whiteread is an important influence and inspiration to the profession and richly deserving of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize.’

The Women in Architecture Awards, in association with The Architectural Review and The Architects’ Journal, look to inspire change in the architectural profession by celebrating great design by women architects from around the world and promoting role models for young women in practice.

The winners of the prestigious awards will be honoured at the AJ/AR Women in Architecture Luncheon at Claridge’s on 3 March.

The Jane Drew Prize

The Jane Drew Prize is named after the great Jane Drew, the spirited advocate for women in a male-dominated profession. She graduated from the Architectural Association in 1929 into a profession that was unwelcoming to women at best. She started her own practice after the Second World War, and her work played a substantial role in introducing the Modern Movement into the UK.

In 2016, the prize was given to creative powerhouse and equality advocate Odile Decq. Previous winners include Grafton Architects’ founders Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, Zaha Hadid, Kathryn Findlay of Ushida Findlay and Eva Jiřičná.

The Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

The Ada Louise Huxtable award is named after the famous architecture critic. Huxtable made history by being the first full-time architecture critic at a US newspaper when she joined the New York Times, and was later awarded the first Pulitzer Prize for Criticism in 1970.

Former director of the Serpentine Galleries Julia Peyton-Jones won the prize in 2016 for her role in nurturing architectural vision and making architecture available to a broad global audience. Client and architectural patron Jane Priestman won the inaugural prize in 2015.