Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

The AR House 2014 Awards and Conference

The AR House Awards recognises and celebrates the best completed one-off house with a prize fund of £10,000.

Entries will be assessed by an international jury chaired by AR Editor Catherine Slessor. This year’s jurors are Ben van Berkel (UNStudio), Yvonne Farrell (Grafton Architects), William Mann (Witherford Watson Mann Architects) and Abraham Thomas (Director, Soane Museum). See more on the 2014 jury here.


·Win the £10,000 prize fund

·Have your work published in a special edition of The Architectural Review

·Have your work assessed by a distinguished international jury chaired by AR Editor Catherine Slessor

·Enjoy global PR coverage through the AR website

·Be part of the lineage of pioneering house designs

·All finalists receive a free pass to the AR House conference

Write the next chapter in the history of the house and enter here today.

NEED HELP WITH YOUR ENTRY? Contact our award entry specialist Francesca Verdusco on
+44 (0)20 3033 2660 or email her at


In tandem with this year’s Awards, the AR House Conference will examine how the modern house is being recast. Leading architects, critics, patrons and developers will review the complex relationship between architecture, society and ecology, offering compelling new perspectives on the house.

The conference will also feature the winners of the 2014 AR House Awards discussing the ideas and ambitions behind their projects.


·Peter Buchanan
Critic and author of the AR’s Big Rethink series on new approaches to sustainability

·Bill Dunster
Architect and leading eco-house pioneer

·William Mann
Partner in Witherford Watson Mann Architects, winners of the 2013 Stirling Prize for the remodelling of Astley Castle

·Dickon Robinson
Project leader for the Alain de Botton’s ‘Living Architecture’ initiative

·Roger Zogolovitch
Architect and developer with a particular interest in the modern house

See more information on the conference here.

Don’t miss out - book your place today.  Book before 30 April to save up to £50.

We look forward to seeing your pioneering house designs and seeing you at the conference in June.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.