Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Profiles and interviews

Martin parr architecturl review

Interview with Martin Parr Subscription

6 May, 2020 By

We speak to British photographer Martin Parr whose work capturing tourists across the globe grasps something of both the reality of place and its mythology

I saw three cities kay sage architectural review

Interview with Christine BattersbySubscription

26 March, 2020 By Lili Zarzycki

We speak to philosopher Christine Battersby about the historic erasure of matrilineal lines of cultural inheritance and the notion of the genius

Beatriz Colomina Ada Louise Huxtable Prize 2020 W Awards

Beatriz Colomina: ‘In architecture, we only recognise a single figure, the genius architect’VideoSubscription

24 March, 2020

Beatriz Colomina, winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize 2020, talks the secret life of architecture, the Pritzker Prize, and what we can learn from film-making following the W Awards in March.

Screen shot 2020 03 23 at 18.31.40

Yasmeen Lari: ‘Architects can no longer only serve the 1%’VideoSubscription

24 March, 2020

Yasmeen Lari, Pakistan’s first female architect and winner of the Jane Drew Prize 2020, talks to the AR about starchitecture, earthen thrones, and why we should all be building with bamboo, following the W Awards in March

Sanders index 2

Interview with Joel SandersSubscription

19 March, 2020

We speak to architect, academic and editor Joel Sanders about the construction and performance of gender, and its physically built permutations

George monbiot interview rewilding feral architectural review crop

Interview with George MonbiotSubscription

22 January, 2020

Writer and environmental and political activist George Monbiot talks to us about Feral, ecocide, and environmental preservation

Mill jones ghost story sketches index architectural review

Interview with Mill + JonesSubscription

9 January, 2020

Following their short graphic novel Ghosts story featured in AR December 2019 / January 2020, Anna Mill and Luke Jones speak to the AR about layers, circular economies and fictional worlds

Gilles clement third landscape dominique dubois fallo architectural review

Interview with Kate RaworthSubscription

12 September, 2019

The author of Doughnut Economics ruminates on the urgent question of how we might meet the needs of all people, within the means of the planet

0157564d crop

Interview with Elizabeth GroszSubscription

3 May, 2019

The AR talks to the philosopher, theorist, and author of Architecture from the Outside about boundaries, representation, and the thickness of the ‘in-between’

Screen shot 2019 03 29 at 13.57.26

Hélène Binet: ‘I am interested in making you dream about the place’VideoSubscription

29 March, 2019

Winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize 2019, photographer Hélène Binet talks dreams, Zaha Hadid and photography you can hold in your hands following the Women in Architecture awards in March

Screen shot 2019 03 26 at 15.59.18

Sheila O'Donnell: ‘Of course I think of London as part of the EU’VideoSubscription

29 March, 2019

Sheila O’Donnell, founding director of O’Donnell + Tuomey alongside John Tuomey, talks Brexit, Irish architecture, and ‘damn fine women painters’, after winning Architect of the Year at the Women in Architecture awards 2019