Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

Competition: French Prize of Women Architects 2017

The Paris-based Association for Research on the City and Housing (ARVHA) has launched its annual awards programme for female architects – featuring a new international category (Deadline: 31 July)

The initiative – first launched in 2013 and previously only open to French architects – now recognises excellence in four separate fields covering French women architects, young French women architects, original works by French women architects and international women architects.

The programme sets out to promote female architects’ works and careers in order to inspire young architects and boost equality in the male-dominated profession. Last year 170 candidates participated and more than 700 projects were presented (pictured, winners).

French Prize of Women Architects 2016

French Prize of Women Architects 2016

French Prize of Women Architects 2016

A statement from ARVHA says: ‘This prize aims to honour the quality of the architectural conception of the projects and the careers of women architects, with the corollary to make easier the recognition of the part played by women in the field of architecture and construction industry in France and in Europe especially.

‘A new category opens in 2017 to architects, who are not French, don’t practice in France and are registered in their countries and give proof of so, coming in priority from the countries with a network of women architects such as Austria, Slovakia, England, Italy, Ireland, Switzerland, Germany, Spain.’

Launched in 1993, ARVHA is a research and teaching platform specialising in housing, public realm, urban renewal and sustainable development. Since 2013 the organisation has hosted an annual awards programme for French women architects.

Last year’s winners included Véronique Joffre (women architect), Tania Concko (original work), Eliane Castelnau (special mention) and Ingrid Taillandier (nominated women architect). Odile Decq, who won last year’s Jane Drew Prize, was among the winners at ARVHA’s inaugural awards in 2013.

Project backers include France’s Ministry of Culture and Communication, the Ministry of Childhood and Families women’s rights, the Prefecture of Paris, the City of Paris and the country’s National Council of the Order of Architects.

This year’s awards ceremony will be held on 11 December inside the Pavillon de L’Arsenal in Paris. The event will opened by the Minister of Childhood and Families with the top award given by the Minister of Culture and Communication.

How to apply


The deadline for applications is 31 July

Contact details

Catherine GUYOT
75 rue des Archives
75003 PARIS

Tel: +33 01 42 77 34 20

Visit the competition website for more information