Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Category list : Book of books

Stories with this category.

Sort By: Newest firstOldest firstA-ZZ-A

  • 3 housekeeping hotels by design david brody architectural review

    Secret service: hotel housekeeping hidden by designSubscription

    Essay20 May, 2020

    With its roots in European aristocratic households, the hotel orchestrates behind-the-scenes activity while perpetuating surface serenity

  • Japanese guidebook tourism architectural review index

    Travel agents: guidebooks and atlases become a means of escapeSubscription

    Essay12 May, 2020

    At a time of lockdowns and the need for escapism, guidebooks and atlases can transport the reader to another place from the comfort of their own home

  • Imran perretta the destructors film still architectural review masculinities

    Camera man: race, class, and British masculinitySubscription

    Essay20 March, 2020

    In both the palaces of Belgravia, and a community centre in Shadwell, bodies and buildings lay bare issues of masculinity, racism and class

  • Sanders index 2

    Interview with Joel SandersSubscription

    Essay19 March, 2020

    We speak to architect, academic and editor Joel Sanders about the construction and performance of gender, and its physically built permutations

  • Sanders index

    Binary code: technologies of genderSubscription

    Essay18 March, 2020

    Studies of masculinity and space by writers such as Joel Sanders and Paul Preciado challenge the borders of gender

  • Tourists scotland preservation rewilding architectural review

    Run rewild: reinstating natureSubscription

    Essay22 January, 2020

    Plant and animal life on Earth is orchestrated to preserve humanity’s ideal of nature. We need to step back

  • George monbiot interview rewilding feral architectural review crop

    Interview with George MonbiotSubscription

    Essay22 January, 2020

    Writer and environmental and political activist George Monbiot talks to us about Feral, ecocide, and environmental preservation

  • Yeravan 3 crop

    Photographic memory: the revival of an artefactSubscription

    Essay20 January, 2020

    The private antecedent to coffee-table tomes on Soviet Modernism, Ursula Schulz-Dornburg’s photo book is reproduced as an artefact from an ever more distant moment in time

  • Crop eugeniu lordachescu architectural review

    Arbiters of conscience: architectural jeremiadsSubscription

    Essay15 January, 2020

    In the censure of destruction and alienation wrought by architecture, jeremiads play a crucial role in upholding both aesthetics and humanity

  • John latham mattress factory burning archive architectural review crop

    Paris is burning: fire and archiveSubscription

    Essay9 January, 2020

    At the intersection between architecture and fire lies an archive, its contents and symbolism both fearful and familiar

Show  10 per page20 per page50 per page