Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

The Women in Architecture awards, in association with The Architectural Review and The Architects’ Journal, look to inspire change in the architectural profession by celebrating great design from around the world and promoting role models for young women in practice

16 04 08 madelon vrisendorp london 076

‘If at first you don’t succeed, cry, cry again’: Madelon Vriesendorp on being written out of historySubscription

Vriesendorp, winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize 2018, explores refreshing alternatives to professional modes of practice in art or architecture

Cri 000000366277

Only resist: a feminist approach to critical spatial practiceSubscription

Since the 1990s, a radical and interdisciplinary approach to spatial practice offers a rich and productive seam for feminism and architecture

1280px melbourne australian open 2010 venus and serena chat

The serveSubscription

The Williams sisters’ feminist space of possibility 23m by 8m long

Go to the AJ/AR Women in Architecture website


Editorial: Awards for women architects will eventually become an anachronismSubscription

While it is still the case that women have yet to achieve equality in the architectural world, the Women in Architecture awards applaud first architectural quality, and then the architect – who happens to be a woman

Moira Gemmill Prize winner 2017

03 court

Cancha in Veracruz, Tepoztlán House and Común-Unidad in Mexico by Rozana MontielVideoSubscription

Sensitive engagements with communities activate simple architectural forms

Architect of the Year winner 2017

Dji 0001

Gabriela Carrillo named Architect of the Year for Pátzcuaro Criminal Courts in MexicoSubscription

Calls for transparency in the judicial system in Mexico have inspired a novel architectural approach

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize winner 2017


Rachel Whiteread: ‘Faithful to a truly architectural project’Subscription

Whiteread’s architecture autre interrogates the psychic response to space

Jane Drew Prize winner 2017


Denise Scott Brown and the fight for recognition VideoSubscription

[Jane Drew Prize 2017] A fearless feminist icon, Scott Brown fought against a culture that assigned Venturi to the canon without her – and she’s still fighting

The life, work and reputation of influential women architects

027 charlotte perriand theredlist

Folio: Charlotte PerriandSubscription

027 charlotte perriand theredlist

Moira Gemmill Prize winner 2016

Milagrito mezcal pavilion santiago matatlan 2 jpg

Ambrosi Etchegaray employ Mexican idiosyncrasies in a rich reinterpretation of cultural and material historyVideoSubscription

Winner of the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture

Architect of the Year winner 2016

Arcus centre kalamazoo Studio Gang04

The Arcus Center for Social Justice in Kalamazoo, Michigan by Studio GangVideoSubscription

Inclusion, openness and dialogue resonate throughout Jeanne Gang’s Arcus Center for Social Justice Leadership

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize winner 2016

Serpentineindex jpg

Julia Peyton-Jones awarded the 2016 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize: ‘when push comes to shove, architects can change the world’Subscription

A nurturer of architectural vision who has made architecture available to many

Jane Drew Prize winner 2016

Antti Lovag Bubble House Odile Decq

Odile Decq wins the 2016 Jane Drew Prize: ‘I’m still at war - there’s so much to fight for’Subscription

A creative powerhouse, spirited breaker of rules and a vocal advocate of equality