Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

The W Awards, formerly known as the Women in Architecture awards, recognise women’s contribution to the profession around the world, promoting role models for young women in practice and encouraging respect, diversity and equality in architecture.

To find out more about the W Awards and Programme, click here.


The winners of the 2020 W Awards have been revealedSubscription

Francesca Torzo has been declared the winner of the Moira Gemill Prize for Emerging Architecture, along with Mariam Kamara who has been Highly Commended, and Tracy Meller who has won the MJ Long Prize for Excellence in Practice

W Awards in film

Moira Gemmill Prize Winner

Z33 exterior francesca torzo architectural review

Diamond in the rough: Z33 art house in Hasselt, Belgium by Francesca Torzo ArchitettoSubscription


Winner of the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture 2020: the extension to the Z33 art house in Hasselt, Belgium, is the crystallisation of Francesca Torzo’s architecture of soft memories 

Moira Gemmill Prize Highly Commended

Dandaji 15 mariam kamara atelier masomi architectural review

Customs made: Hikma religious and secular complex in Dandaji, Niger by Atelier MasōmīSubscription

By Mpho Matsipa

Highly Commended for the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture 2020: creating spaces in Niger that both respect traditions and turn them on their head is just one of the specialities of Atelier Masōmī’s Mariam Kamara

MJ Long Prize winner


Step change: Centre Building, LSE in London, UK by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners Subscription

By Catherine Slessor

Winner of the MJ Long Prize for Excellence in Practice 2020: the Centre Building of the LSE, designed by a Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners team led by Tracy Meller, has given the London campus a new heart

Jane Drew Prize winner 2020

yasmeen lari eva vecsei architectural review

‘In architectural practice you are so isolated from the reality of the country': Yasmeen Lari and self-sustaining architectureVideoSubscription

By Helen Thomas

Winner of the Jane Drew Prize 2020, Pakistan’s first female architect builds what she describes as ‘barefoot architecture’, treading lightly on the planet

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize winner 2020

Pyjama party performance beatriz colomina architectural review

'Collaboration is the secret life of architecture': Beatriz Colomina and the value of collective authorshipSubscription


The internationally acclaimed feminist writer shines a spotlight on sexual prejudice and representation in architecture

Jane Drew Prize winner 2019

Web 3 blur building approach from shore photo by beat widmer

‘My intention was never to be an architect’: Elizabeth Diller's role in the contemporary creative landscapeSubscription

Absorbing and elaborating creativity from a wide array of artistic endeavours is, winner of the Jane Drew Prize 2019, Elizabeth Diller’s forte

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize winner 2019

Web ben blossom

‘An image for me should never be completely defined’: How Hélène Binet's photographs changed the way we look at architectureSubscription

Winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize 2019, Hélène Binet’s photographs are more than simply representations of the buildings they depict. They are distinct works in their own right

2019 Architect of the Year winner


Hungarian rhapsody: Central European University, Budapest, Hungary, by O'Donnell + TuomeySubscription

By Jay Merrick

Women in Architecture Architect of the Year 2019 winner: O’Donnell + Tuomey’s progressive building for the Central European University in Budapest, dedicated to open minds, borders and society, converses in the city’s language of courtyards and rhythmic stone 

2019 Moira Gemmill Prize winner

Tofu factory 1

Rural restoration: Xu Tiantian, DnA, ChinaSubscription


Women in Architecture Moira Gemmill Prize winner 2019: hidden deep in the heartlands of Songyang, Xu Tiantian’s network of small but sophisticated structures is transforming the Chinese countryside

Essays on gender, women in architecture, and sexualised space

Jane Drew Prize winner 2018

470 copyright hufton crow n68 large

‘I work best with something to push back against’: Amanda Levete on pushing borders and parametersSubscription

Winner of the Jane Drew Prize 2018, a desire to push the boundaries led Levete to embark on her stellar career in architecture

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize winner 2018

16 04 08 madelon vrisendorp london 076

‘If at first you don’t succeed, cry, cry again’: Madelon Vriesendorp on being written out of historySubscription

Vriesendorp, winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize 2018, explores refreshing alternatives to professional modes of practice in art or architecture

Architect of the Year Winner 2018

Cp b&c museoparacas 0230

Heat and dust: Paracas Museum, Peru by Barclay & CrousseSubscription

By Cristina Dreifuss

Women in Architecture Architect of the Year 2018 winner: Peru’s Museo de Sitio de Paracas, by Barclay & Crousse, is designed to blend into its harsh desert surroundings as well as withstand them

Moira Gemmill Prize Winner 2018

34 fada una © federico cairoli

Breaking the mould: Gloria Cabral, Gabinete de Arquitectura, ParaguaySubscription

By Davide Tommaso Ferrando

Women in Architecture Moira Gemmill Prize winner 2018: combining innovations in construction techniques and materials as simple as Paraguayan brick has had award-winning results for Gloria Cabral and Gabinete de Arquitectura

The life, work and reputation of influential women architects

Jane Drew Prize winner 2017


Denise Scott Brown and the fight for recognition VideoSubscription

[Jane Drew Prize 2017] A fearless feminist icon, Scott Brown fought against a culture that assigned Venturi to the canon without her – and she’s still fighting

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize winner 2017


Rachel Whiteread: ‘Faithful to a truly architectural project’Subscription

Whiteread’s architecture autre interrogates the psychic response to space

Architect of the Year winner 2017

Dji 0001

Pátzcuaro Criminal Courts in Mexico by TALLER | Mauricio Rocha + Gabriela CarrilloSubscription

Calls for transparency in the judicial system in Mexico have inspired a novel architectural approach

Moira Gemmill Prize winner 2017

03 court

Cancha in Veracruz, Tepoztlán House and Común-Unidad in Mexico by Rozana MontielVideoSubscription

Sensitive engagements with communities activate simple architectural forms