Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Odile Decq and Julia Peyton-Jones recognised by Women in Architecture Awards

Odile Decq has won the Jane Drew Prize and Julia Peyton-Jones has been awarded the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize in the annual Women in Architecture Awards.

The judges described Odile Decq as ‘a creative powerhouse, spirited breaker of rules and advocate of equality’.

Decq’s key projects range from The Cargo incubator building in Paris to the Fangshan Tangshan National Geopark Museum in Nanjing, China. She has also established her own architectural school in Lyon, the Confluence, which seeks to promote experimentation and work across different disciplines – and shake up the status quo.

The judges celebrated Julia Peyton-Jones’ ‘incredible global impact achieved with limited resources – and as someone who has done so much to nurture architectural vision and make architecture available to many people’.

As director of the Serpentine Galleries, Peyton-Jones inaugurated the annual summer pavilions – commissioning architects such as Zaha Hadid, Oscar Niemeyer and Rem Koolhaas to create temporary structures which have delighted and inspired visitors since 2000.

Both Decq and Peyton-Jones will speak at the annual Women in Architecture Awards luncheon on Friday 4 March at Claridge’s. The winners of the Architect of the Year award and Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture will be announced at the lunch.

Limited tickets are available to attend the luncheon – please contact Lydia Handley Millard on for more information

The Jane Drew Prize recognises an architectural designer who through their work and commitment to design excellence has raised the profile of women in architecture. The prize is named after the great Jane Drew, who was a spirited advocate for women in a male-dominated profession. Previous winners are Zaha Hadid, Eva Jiricna, Kathryn Findlay of UshidaFindlay and Grafton Architects’ founders Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara.

The Ada Louise Huxtable Prize recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. It is named after architecture critic Ada Louise Huxtable, who made history by being the first full-time architecture critic at a US newspaper when she joined the New York Times. Client and architectural patron Jane Priestman won the inaugural award.