Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

Last chance to enter the AR New into Old awards

Carbonell mg 7397alt

The Architectural Review is seeking the most creative and exciting adaptive re-use projects, to be judged by our jury including Ricardo Bofill. Extended deadline: Friday 20 September

‘Our duty is to give buildings a new lease of life’, Carlo Scarpa once said, ‘so that they may be able to live today and tomorrow’. As the need for sustainable alternatives to building anew becomes increasingly urgent, the AR New into Old awards celebrate the creative ways buildings are adapted and remodelled to welcome new contemporary uses. Launched in 2017, the awards recognise the imaginative appropriation of existing structures that offer buildings a new lease of life, from innovative insertions to ambitious adaptations. 

Enter now

Extended deadline: Friday 20 September 2019

For more information and to enter the awards click here

Carbonell mg 4547 8 9 tonemappedcrop

Carbonell mg 4547 8 9 tonemappedcrop

La Fábrica by Ricardo Bofill Taller de Arquitectura. Image courtesy of the architect

Regardless of programme, budget, site or scale, the AR is looking for projects completed in the last 5 years which have had their life extended by the insertion of new uses rather than demolition and replacement. All entries will be reviewed by the expert international judging panel which will choose a shortlist of up to six commended buildings. The judges’ six chosen schemes will all be visited by an independent critic before the judges choose a winner.

The AR New into Old awards are diverse and wide-ranging. Previous winners and finalists include Teget, O-office, Wingårdhs, Duggan Morris, Zaha Hadid Architects, and diederendirrix. 

To find out more about the AR New into Old awards and enter today, click here

View examples of adaptive re-use projects previously published in the AR here