Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Ronald Rietveld joins the jury for the AR Emerging Architecture awards 2018

After winning AR Emerging Architecture 2013, co-founder of RAAAF Ronald Rietveld joins this year’s judging panel alongside Gurjit Singh Matharoo and Ángela García de Paredes

Ronald Rietveld graduated from the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture in 2003. After winning the Prix de Rome Architecture in 2006, he co-founded RAAAF (Rietveld Architecture-Art-Affordances) together with his brother, philosopher and economist Erik Rietveld.

RAAAF is a design and research studio operating at the crossroads of architecture, science and art, who believes that ‘every project is a built manifesto in itself’. An example of this is the cut-through monument Bunker 599, which questions the Dutch and UNESCO policies on cultural heritage and for which they won both the 2011 Dutch Design Award and the 2013 AR Emerging Architecture award. RAAAF’s work has been published and exhibited internationally at leading art and architecture biennials in São Paulo, Istanbul and Venice.

In academia, Ronald Rietveld often gives lectures at symposia and conferences. Together with Erik Rietveld he set up the master’s programme Studio ‘Vacant NL’ at the Sandberg Institute (Gerrit Rietveld Academie) in 2011. He has also been guest lecturer at several other Dutch academies such as the Design Academy Eindhoven and the Academies of Architecture in Amsterdam and Rotterdam.

Rietveld has been part of the juries of Rotterdam Design Prize 2013 (scout, together with Erik Rietveld), Gerrit Rietveld Award 2012 and Prix de Rome Architecture 2010 among others. On invitation by the Netherlands Architecture Institute (NAI), RAAAF was curator of the Dutch submission to the 12th Architecture Biennale of Venice in 2010.

Bunker 599

Bunker 599 by RAAAF

RAAAF’s bisected pillbox, Bunker 599 was one of the winners of AREA 2013

Be part of the AR’s lineage of pioneering emerging architects. Enter today

Early bird deadline: 13 July 2018

Deadline: 31 August 2018

Now in their 20th year, the AR Emerging Architecture awards support young architects and designers at a key stage in their career, promoting their best work to a worldwide audience.

This year, we will recognise excellence in an overall body of work: entrants are asked to submit a small portfolio rather than a single completed building. Shortlisted projects will be featured in a special edition of the AR and all finalists will be presenting their work to our acclaimed judging panel in Amsterdam at the World Architecture Festival this November to win the £10,000 prize.

Previous winners include Sou Fujimoto, Klein Dytham, Anna Heringer, Bjarke Ingels, Thomas Heatherwick, Sean Godsell, Li Xiaodong and Frida Escobedo. Find out more about last year’s winning and commended projects here