Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

Ángela García de Paredes to judge the AR Emerging Architecture awards 2018

Spanish architect Ángela García de Paredes will judge the AR Emerging Architecture awards this November in Amsterdam

Ángela García de Paredes is the co-founder of the Spanish architectural firm Paredes Pedrosa, which she established in 1990 together with Ignacio Pedrosa. Their built work includes specific heritage interventions, such as La Olmeda Roman Villa, Ceuta’s Public Library and Twin Houses in Oropesa, shortlisted for this year’s Women in Architecture Architect of the Year award.

She is a professor at the Architectural Design Department in Madrid ETSAM and a visiting professor at IUAV in Venice among other universities. García de Paredes was the curator of the X Iberoamerican Biennale in 2016.

Paredes Pedrosa’s work has been internationally recognised and awarded with the 2015 European Award for Architectural Heritage, 2014 Spain Fine Arts Gold Medal, and 2007 Spain Architecture Award. The Town Hall in Valdemaqueda was a prizewinner in the very first edition of the AR Emerging Architecture awards in 1999, and the Congress Centre in Murcia was highly commended in 2002.

Be part of the AR’s lineage of pioneering emerging architects. Enter today

Early bird deadline: 13 July 2018

Deadline: 31 August 2018

Now in their 20th year, the AR Emerging Architecture awards support young architects and designers at a key stage in their career, promoting their best work to a worldwide audience.

This year, we will recognise excellence in an overall body of work: entrants are asked to submit a small portfolio rather than a single completed building. Shortlisted projects will be featured in a special edition of the AR and all finalists will be presenting their work to our acclaimed judging panel in Amsterdam at the World Architecture Festival this November to win the £10,000 prize.

Previous winners of the awards include Sou Fujimoto, Klein Dytham, Anna Heringer, Bjarke Ingels, Thomas Heatherwick, Sean Godsell, Li Xiaodong and Frida Escobedo. Find out more about last year’s winning and commended projects here.