Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Entries for the 2020 AR Emerging Architecture awards are now open

Comunal emerging architectural review social production

Enter and be in with the chance to win a £10,000 prize and be published in a special edition of the AR alongside all the other finalists

Founded in 1999 and now running for more than two decades, we are delighted to launch the 22nd edition of the AR Emerging Architecture awards. Following two years in Amsterdam, the judging process and award celebrations will be held at the World Architecture Festival in Lisbon which runs from 2 to 4 December. The AR Emerging Architecture awards support architects at a key moment in their career, placing them on a global stage and promoting their work to the world.


Deadline: 4 September 2020

For more information and to enter please click here

This year, we will recognise excellence in an overall body of work: entrants are asked to submit a small portfolio rather than a single completed building. Shortlisted projects will be featured in a special edition of the The Architectural Review this November, and all finalists will be presenting their work to our acclaimed judging panel in Lisbon to win the £10,000 prize.

Finalists will have the opportunity to join the AR editorial team, judges and partners for an exclusive celebratory dinner – and they will also be invited to the WAF gala dinner, attended by 800 senior architects from around the world.


Danish architect Dorte Mandrup was the first judge announced on the panel for this year’s awards. Dorte Mandrup’s studio became a finalist in the 2006 AR Emerging Architecture awards for Jægersborg Water Tower, the conversion of an old water tower into a mixed-use development that aimed to strengthen and maintain the tower as a local landmark while integrating new functions, such as student housing and a youth centre.

She will be joined by Sameep Padora, Indian architect and founder of Mumbai-based practice sP+a. His practice was commended in the 2010 AR Emerging Architecture awards for their Buddhist Centre in Maharashtra and the 2018 AR Library awards for the Maya Somaiya Library in Kopargaon.


Sameep Padora, a judge in 2020 and finalist in 2010 commented ‘The award was a ratification of the direction of the work we had just begun to produce as a young practice and helped instill confidence in the criticality of our ideas. It helped us articulate a critical position towards architecture in India through our work which transferred to our work on other projects as well. The body of work we have built or are in the process of building today, is fashioned to an extent by the recognition that the Shiv Temple received.’

Níall McLaughlin, a finalist in 2002 and a judge in 2019 said about the awards ‘The AR Emerging Architecture award introduced us to new audiences, boosting our profile at home and allowing us to get shortlisted for a broader range of new commissions. It was a shot in the arm for our own self-confidence.’

Anna Heringer, another judge in 2019 and winner in 2006 and 2008 said ‘Receiving the AR Award felt like being knighted. I never thought that some mud and bamboo buildings in a very remote village would ever gain attention. This recognition came as a total surprise and has been an incredible motivation for me to forge my own path, which is what I’ve been doing ever since.’

Previous winners

Previous winners of the awards include Sou Fujimoto, Thomas Heatherwick, Sean Godsell, Jürgen Mayer H, Anna Heringer, Shigeru Ban, Li Xiaodong, Frida Escobedo and Carla Juaçaba Studio. Click here to view last year’s winner, Comunal Taller de Arquitectura, and commended entries from the 2020 awards 

Lead image: Social Production of Housing by Comunal Taller de Arquitectura and Cooperative Union of Tosepan Titataniske. Photo by Onnis Luque