Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Celebrating the winners of the 2011 ar + d awards

This issue celebrates the winners of the 2011 ar+d Awards for Emerging Architecture

Since 1999, the Awards have nurtured the talent of an emerging generation of architects from all over the world, and are now firmly on the radar of those under 45 striving to make their mark in professional practice. Only built work is eligible for submission because our view has always been that architecture is not confined to paper or computerised theorising, but is a compact with society to build well and to build responsibly. This year, around 300 submissions were received from 41 countries and winning schemes are spread over a range of locales, from Spain to Sri Lanka.

The jury also reflected a diverse international outlook, with Junya Ishigami from Japan, Brendan MacFarlane from France, and Doris Lockhart and Lee Marsden, both from the UK. AR editor Catherine Slessor was jury chair. The jury’s conversations owed much to different experiences and world views, but all were agreed on the importance of certain key assessment criteria: connectedness to place, appropriate use of materials and technology, and the cultivation of environmental andsocial responsibility.

The jury chose two first prize-winners and four runners up. Ten schemes were also highly commended. Encapsulating the fertility of architectural production incertain countries, six projects had a Japanese connection, while five were from Spain. To contextualise this further, we invited overview essays from respected architectural critics Ken Tadashi Oshima and Luis Fernández-Galiano, which preface our coverage of the winners and give a deeper insight into the possibilities and challenges confronting young architects in Japan and Spain.

This year sees the rekindling of the AR’s relationship with d line, the distinguished Danishironmongery company, which supported the Awards programme when it first began, and has now returned to be its main sponsor partner. Our other sponsor is Miele, and this year architectural practice Austin-Smith: Lord return as a supporter. We are grateful for their generosity, which makes possible not only the Awards programme, but also an associated exhibition of winning entries and a series of lectures at the RIBA in London.

The exhibition opens on 23 November and full details of the lecture series can be found in the forthcoming January issue. Such activities help to carry on the debate begun in these pages.

Joint Winners

Katana Film Instutute, Boonserm Prenthada
Kantana Town, Thailand

Harbour remodelling, Creus e Carrasco
Malpica, Spain

Runners Up

Biodiversity Centre, Thomas Garcia Piriz
Loja Spain

Cave for Kids, Haugen/Zohar Arkitekter
Trondheim, Norway

Little Hilltop with Wind View, Singo Masuda
Yamaguchi, Japan

Rowing Centre, Jose Maria Sanchez Garcia
Alange, Spain

Highly Commended

Nebuta House Museum, Molo Design
Aomori City, Japan

Social housing, ZigZag Arquitectura
Mieres, Spain

Path in the Forest, Tetsuo Kondo
Tallinn, Estonia

Contemporary Arts Centre, ICA Arquitectura
Madrid, Spain

Kumon School, Takashi Yonezawa
Kyoto, Japan

Art museum, Hiroshi Nakamura
Oyama, Japan

Sagacho Archives, Masahiro Harada
Tokyo, Japan

Community Centre, Chinthaka Wickramage
Thalalla, Sri Lanka

Municipal Theatre, Enrique Krahe
Zarfra, Bajadoz, Spain

Shadow Pavilion, Ply Architecture
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.