Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

This site uses cookies. By using our services, you agree to our cookie use.
Learn more here.

AR Emerging Architecture awards 2018 open for entries: enter today!

3040168 2012 09 frida tallera 1442 rafaelgamo

This year, we will recognise excellence in an overall body of work: the winner will receive a £10,000 prize and be published in a special edition of the AR alongside all the other finalists

Now in its 20th edition, we are delighted to launch the AR Emerging Architecture awards 2018. After the huge success of last year’s awards held in Berlin, this year the judging process and award celebrations will be held at WAF in Amsterdam which runs from 28 to 30 November. The AR Emerging Architecture awards support architects at a key moment in their career, placing them on a global stage and promoting their work to the world. 

This year, we will recognise excellence in an overall body of work: entrants are asked to submit a small portfolio rather than a single completed building. Shortlisted projects will be featured in a special edition of the The Architectural Review this November, and all finalists will be presenting their work to our acclaimed judging panel in Amsterdam to win the £10,000 prize.

Finalists will have the opportunity to join the AR editorial team, judges and sponsors for an exclusive celebratory dinner – and they will also be invited to the WAF gala dinner, attended by 800 senior architects from around the world.

Early bird deadline: 13 July 2018

Deadline: 31 August 2018

For more information and to enter please click here

Previous winners of the awards include Sou Fujimoto, Thomas Heatherwick, Sean Godsell, Jürgen Mayer H, Anna Heringer, Shigeru Ban, Li Xiaodong and Frida Escobedo. Click here to view last year’s winning and commended entries. Below is a video showing the highlights from last year’s AREA awards in Berlin.


The 2018 AR Emerging Architecture awards are proudly supported by

headline partner

Rgb rockwool® logo primary colour rgb cropped